Craig Ervine To Lead As Zimbabwe Announce 15-Member Squad For The Tournament

Spread the love

nike promo web

new balance
free keto book

Zimbabwe Cricket announced the 15-member squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 which sees the return of captain Craig Ervine from injury, who had missed the series against Bangladesh and India and the tour of Australia.

A total of 16 teams — Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Ireland, UAE, Netherlands, and Zimbabwe, will play the ICC World T20 2022 tournament.

eight teams that have already qualified for the Super 12 round of the T20 World Cup. They are India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, South Africa, England, Australia, Bangladesh, and New Zealand. These are divided into two groups- Group 1 and Group 2.

The T20 World Cup 2022 will be played down under from October 16 onwards when a qualifying round will be played for two spots in the super 12s stage up for grabs.

See also  "Tough Times Do Come But Things Get Easier Too"
T20 World Cup 2022 trohpy
T20 World Cup 2022 trohpy (Credits: Twitter)

Craig Ervine, Blessing Muzarabani And Tendai Chatara Return For Zimbabwe For T20 World Cup

Zimbabwe has been placed in Group B of the qualifying round with Ireland, Scotland, and the two-time champions West Indies. Craig Ervine has returned from his hamstring niggle and has been named captain of the team for the ICC event.

Zimbabwe is also scheduled to face Sri Lanka and Namibia in warm-up matches on 10 and 13 October ahead of the main tournament.

Tendai Chatara
Tendai Chatara (Credits: Twitter)

Also included are senior members like Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza, and Milton Shumba while Blessing Muzarabani also comes back to marshal the pace attack. Chatara returns from a collarbone fracture while Muzarabani, who traveled with the team to Australia without playing a game, is back fully fit.

See also  Ishan to open with Rohit, is there place for Ashwin? Follow LIVE

Masakadza and Shumba come back from shoulder tendon and quadricep injuries respectively. Tadiwanashe Marumani, Innocent Kaia, Kevin Kasuza, Victor Nyauchi, and Tanaka Chivanga have been named as reserves.

Zimbabwe. PC-Getty
Zimbabwe. PC-Getty

Zimbabwe will begin their T20 World Cup 2022 with a match against Ireland on 17 October at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart, Tasmania. West Indies and Scotland are the other teams in their group.

T20 World Cup squad: Craig Ervine (c), Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Sean Williams

Reserves: Tanaka Chivanga, Innocent Kaia, Kevin Kasuza, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Victor Nyauchi

Also Read: Simon Katich Named Head Coach Of Mumbai Indians Owned Cape Town Franchise for SA20 League

nike promo web

anti radiation
new balance

Source link

See also  3 BIG positives for Team India from 3-0 rout

Spread the love
crypto quantum